Lou Gehrig

Hall of Fame Weekend 2013

News Release from January 10, 2013

(COOPERSTOWN, N.Y.) – The National Pastime’s hometown will once again be the backdrop for the best weekend of the baseball year as Cooperstown hosts Hall of Fame Weekend 2013, July 26-29, featuring the induction of three Pre-Integration Era Committee electees and the return of Hall of Fame members, along with the Awards Presentation and special programs for families and fans of all ages.
The inductions of pioneering umpire Hank O’Day, former Yankees owner Jacob Ruppertand 19th Century star Deacon White will be held at 1:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, July 28 on the Clark Sports Center stage as the greatest heroes the game has ever known gather to pay tribute to baseball’s glorious history.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will also pay tribute to 12 individuals previously counted among the Hall’s roster of members who never had a formal induction due to wartime restrictions. Honorees will include BBWAA electees Lou Gehrig (1939) and Rogers Hornsby (1942), along with the entire class of 1945 selected by the Committee on Old Timers: Roger Bresnahan, Dan Brouthers, Fred Clarke, Jimmy Collins, Ed Delahanty, Hugh Duffy, Hughie Jennings, King Kelly, Jim O’Rourke andWilbert Robinson.
The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held Sunday, July 28, at 1:30 p.m. EDT at the Clark Sports Center and will be shown live on MLB Network...

read more